Skip to Main Content

Faculty

Michele Osherow, Ph.D
Director, Judaic Studies Program
Associate Professor of English
Literature, Yiddish Literature, poetry and drama, Hebrew Bible as Literature
PAHB 302
410-455-8639
mosherow@umbc.edu

Joelle Biele, Ph.D
Jewish American Poetry
PHAB 309
jbiele@umbc.edu

Rabbi Gustav Buchdahl, D.Min
Rabbi Emeritus, Temple Emanuel of Baltimore 
Biblical and post-Biblical literature, Introduction to the Jewish Bible,
Jewish Detective Fiction
Math/Psych 011
buchgus@umbc.edu

Aharona (Roni) Gazit-Rosenthal
Hebrew language and Culture
Sherman Hall A Room 117
arosent1@umbc.edu

Erin Guinn-Villareal
Judaism in the Time of Jesus and Hillel, Isreal/Ancient Near East
PAHB 444
elvillareal@gmail.com

Severin Hockberg, Ph.D
Holocaust history and the history of anti-Semitism
Administration 705
hochberg@umbc.edu

Elli Lieberman, Ph.D
Dynamics of the Arab-Israeli conflict
ellil1@umbc.edu

Yehuda Lukacs, Ph.D
Modern Israel
ylukacs@gmu.edu

Greg Metcalf, Ph.D
Jewish American Experience on Film
gmetcalf.also@gmail.com

Amy Simon
Jewish History, Holocaust Literature
Administration 730

asimon@umbc.edu